Antonia Landi

Chilli con carne – Better than Toast

In Food, Student life on June 1, 2011 at 11:33 pm

Chilli con carne. Picture: Useful Times

There are dishes that have been adopted by other cultures so successfully that you sometimes forget where it actually comes from. For me, chilli is one of those dishes.

I would never argue that my version of this dish is authentic by any means – I’m not even sure I ever ate a ‘proper’ chilli! But I find it to be a tasty dish that I can whip up with no effort at all after a long day at uni. You can eat it with rice, as is the custom, or you can try using it as a filling for fajitas, topped with sour cream to counter the heat. When I have guests and I need a filling snack I serve the chilli in bowls with tortilla chips – it makes a fabulous rich dip and it’s so easy to share!

If you are feeling adventurous, you can play around with the taste of the chillies. I would suggest buying fresh chillies for this one – it doesn’t matter how little or how much you’ll put in, fresh chillies give this dish a kind of lively heat you wouldn’t get with dried chillies. I have used simple red chillies for my video, but have a look around in your local supermarket, or even a deli or a farmer’s market – you’d be surprised at just how many varieties of chillies you can get.

Feeds 4:

500g mince

2 tins red kidney beans

2 tins tomatoes

200g rice

fresh chilli and garlic to taste

oil, salt and pepper

Watch the video for instructions, and do get in touch if you have any questions, as silly as you think they might be!

Antonia Landi for the Useful Times.

Leave a Reply

